top of page
Search

Interview with Ruby<3

Today , I had the amazing opportunity to talk to Ruby, a 16 year old photographer and artist based in Toronto. I hope you all enjoy this splendid interview with her!<3 please go check out her Instagram @rubyszczurphoto


- xoxo lust zine<3




Turbulence Lust: Hey Ruby! , could you introduce yourself?


Ruby: Hey! My name is Ruby Szczur. I am a 16 year old photographer & artist based in Toronto, Ontario. 

Lust: What made you start photography? Ruby: I began fooling around with photography using my moms camera when I was younger.  Being an artistic person, this seemed a natural extension of my other interests in art. I really developed a love and passion for photography and ended up purchasing my own camera and equipment when I got older. 

Lust: Any people you were inspired by?

Ruby: There are so many great artists and photographers out there! I have been inspired by the obvious, Annie Leibovitz and Diane Arbus but also by many of the photographers that I follow on instagram such as:  Alessio Albi (@alessioalbi), Nirav Patel (@niravphotography), Marta Bevacqua (@martabevacqua), Cole Sprouse (@colesprouse) and film photographers like Joe Greer (@ioegreer), Willem Verbeeck (@williemverb) and of course the Kodak & VSCO instagram page both of which are very inspirational!

Lust: What do you want to convey with your pieces(any sort of message?)

Ruby: In general when I take photos I try to express different emotions and feelings in the subjects or models through use of different lighting, locations, posing and also trying to capture candid moments as well. 


Lust: Are there any pieces that have a special meaning to you?


Ruby: Many of my photos have a special meaning to me. I like looking back and remembering the fun photoshoots, moments with friends & family, various locations and the special images I was able to capture on camera. 


“Melancholy”


Lust: Are there any tips you may have for people starting with photography?

Ruby: The advice I would give to future photographers would be to explore, experiment and just shoot anything! Once you experiment with various equipment, camera settings, locations and even models, you will gain experience that will help you with any future adventures in photography.


56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page